Tawa Chicken steak n mashed potatoes

Karachi is having a severe heatwave these days with temperature hitting 42C. It feels like sitting in a tandoor yet you have to cook because it’s Sunday & pait ki aag to bujhani hy 🙂

Was craving for steak and can’t resist to get baked while grilling this to perfection. It’s a simple no fuss recipe with a desi touch.

image

What I do is rub some salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, soy sauce and lemon juice on a flattened chicken breast piece and let it sit for few minutes while I peel 2-3 potatoes for mash.

Boil them in salted water, sautè 2-3 chopped garlic cloves in some butter. Add boiled potatoes and start mashing them. Add half cup of milk and season as per your taste buds with salt n pepper. It takes just 3-5 minutes to thicken. Add one slice of cheddar cheese with milk if you like, it’s optional. Finish it off with a pinch of dried oregano and red chilli flakes.

For steak, heat tawa or grill. I’ve used tawa here. High heat really high heat. Add some oil and butter together just before throwing in that marinated piece of meat. 3 minutes each side. Flip only once. No need to press it. Let the high heat do it’s work.

I like to deglaze tawa with hints of vinegar or lemon juice in the end.

Serve with cheesy buttered toast. Yumm.

Bon appetite!!

3 thoughts on “Tawa Chicken steak n mashed potatoes

  1. Reblogged this on zainiisstaan and commented:
    In August 2014, I visited Roasters at Sindhi Muslim Society and tried there Parmesean Cheese Pasta with White Sauce, fall in love with this simple yet exotic dish

    This wasn’t my 1st time for that dish. My elder sister had given me a treat of it before. Later on my younger sister tried to make it at home. It costs less nd tastes more good when it’s home made. How to make it ? I should ask to my sister, as she cook it so well 😍.

    So give a read to this blog my sister nd enjoy 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

