Homemade Tandoori Chai – Hit or a miss?

Who doesn’t love Chai? You? Please raise your standards and remember that you’re missing out on a potion of goodness in your life. Ah!! Can’t stand Chai haters.

Anyway, coming to the latest Chai craze in Karachi. The Tandoori or Matka Chai. A smokey Tandoori touch to the Karachi style karrak chai makes this everyday potion a treat. Food with theatrics, the perfect Chai presentation to crave for.

Tandoori Chai In Naran

I had my first cuppa Tandoori tea in Naran this year & since then I wanted to try at home.

What I did?

Went to the gamlay wala near my house & got some clay pots of a Chai cup size. Washed them & soaked in water for a couple of hours.

Then I put the clay pot on a stove at medium flame & let it heat until my tea is ready.

Use your own signature Chai recipe just the way you make it regularly at home.

Then I put the Hot clay pot inside a small sauce pan & poured freshly made tea. The clay pot’s heat let it sizzle & spill over inside the saucepan.Poured this tandoori Chai in another clay pot to drink.

Verdict:

Very nice feeling to have made it home but sadly the desired smokiness wasn’t there in this method. Charcoal heating is the key for that missing Tandoori flavor.

I am going to update this blog with my second Tandoori Chai attempt soon. Eid is around the corner & I am planning a BBQ. Tandoori Chai will also be a part of this party. Let’s see how it goes. Meanwhile, do try making tandoori Chai at home.

Leave a comment